Scotts Valley Water District - Board of Directors
Board of Directors


The District is governed by a five-member Board of Directors (Board). Individual Directors are elected to four-year staggered terms by the voters in the District service area.

Board of DirectorsJunior Associates
Wade Leishman, President
Current Term 2022 - 2026 | email
Alex Schulz
Danny Reber, Vice President
Current Term 2020 - 2024 | email
Jasmine Schulz
Bill Ekwall, Director
Current Term 2022 - 2026 | email

Chris Perri, Director
Current Term 2020 - 2024 | email

Ruth Stiles, Director
Current Term 2022 - 2026 | email

The Board has three major responsibilities:

  1. To promote the interests of the District’s customers by establishing policies that support the mission, values, vision and goals of the District and to ensure implementation of the policies. Policies include the governing principles, plans, programs and other overarching actions of the organization. Policy-making is the process of visionary planning and reflects the broadest possible principles and provides parameters which staff operate. Policy-making sets the overall direction for the District.
  2. Oversee the fiscal health of the District. The Board establishes policies that support fiscal stability and effective use of District funds. In order to achieve this, each fiscal year the Board approves an annual budget covering the anticipated revenues and expenditures of the District. In addition, the Board establishes and monitors cash reserve and investment policies.
  3. Hire a General Manager to manage the day-to-day operations of the District. The Board holds the General Manager accountable for the effective operational management of the District. It also has a responsibility to conduct performance evaluations of the General Manager on an annual basis.

Directors remain objective and responsive to the needs of the public they serve. They must make decisions within the proper channels of governmental structure, and not use public office for personal gain.

Meetings and Committees

The Board meets monthly on the second Thursday at 6 p.m. in a hybrid remote/in-person format in compliance with local laws and regulations. Directors also serve on standing, special, and ad hoc committees that focus on managing specific areas of District business. The public is invited to attend all Board and Committee meetings, and more information may be found on the Meetings page.

Directors may also represent the District on other agency boards, commissions and committees in the region or statewide. View Committee Assignments.

The Board of Directors appointed four community members to serve on District Committees through 2025.

Compensated Assignments

The Fair Political Practices Commission (FPPC) requires government agencies to complete Form 806 Public Official Appointments and post it on the agency's website. Form 806 reports additional compensation that public officials receive from appointments to positions on committees, boards or commissions of a public agency; special district; or joint powers agency or authority. No disclosure is necessary for appointments to committees, boards or commissions that do not provide additional compensation to its members.

Junior Associate Board Members

The Board of Directors appointed two Junior Associate Board Members to serve through 2025.